Academic All-Americans

The Academic All-America program is organized annually by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA); the program has been sponsored by various corporate partners. Capital One currently serves as the title sponsor of the Academic All-America program.

To be eligible for Academic All-America status, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have received sophomore athletic and academic standing at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director. Since 1952, CoSIDA has bestowed Academic All-America honors on more than 14,000 student-athletes in Divisions I, II, III and NAIA covering all NCAA championship sports.

Notre Dame now stands second all-time with 238 Academic All-Americans, trailing only Nebraska’s 314, but well ahead of third-place MIT’s 220. Since 2000, those same three schools have been near the top of the list of total Academic All-American selections. Nebraska leads the way with 127, followed closely by MIT’s 123, with Notre Dame in fourth at 112.

The Irish have had more Academic All-Americans than any other school in baseball and women’s soccer, while also cracking the top-10 in football (third), men’s at-large (third), softball (eighth), men’s basketball (ninth) and men’s track/cross country (tenth).

In the past few years, Notre Dame has had several distinguished Academic All-Americans. They include recent two-time Academic All-America selections Lauren Fowlkes (women’s soccer; first team in 2010, second team in 2009) and Manti Te’o (football; first team in 2012, second team in 2011). In 2012, Te’o headlined a group of eight Irish student-athletes that now are part of this prestigious group, including fellow first-team Academic All-America honorees Greg Andrews (men’s at-large), Mike Golic, Jr. (football) and Elizabeth Tucker (women’s soccer). In 2013, Elizabeth Tucker (women’s soccer) and Harrison Shipp (men’s soccer) joined other two-time winners as they earned the honor as Academic All-Americans for the second consecutive year.

Ashley Armstrong
Women’s Golf
Logan Renwick
Men’s Cross Country/T&F
Harrison Shipp
Men’s Soccer
Elizabeth Tucker
Women’s Soccer